Trpceski Simon Lube Saveski

Music from Northern Europe, conducted by Norwegian conductor Eivind Gullberg Jensen and featuring international star, Macedonian pianist Simon Trpčeski.

At this concert’s heart is Rachmaninov’s show-stopping Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini – a concerto in all but name, its variations on Paganini’s Caprice No.24 full of scintillating and imaginative detail.

“The most notable aspect that Macedonian pianist Simon Trpčeski brought to Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini was wit. Trpčeski brought it out with his crisp, crystalline, lightly pedalled playing… As a result, this piano concerto-in-all-but-name sounded fresh and alive.” (Los Angeles Times)

Nielsen’s two-movement Symphony No.5 completes the evening; a work full of drama and tension, composed in the aftermath of the First World War.

Free pre-concert talk with Eivind Gullberg Jensen at 7pm


Grieg                                    Suite: Peer Gynt

Rachmaninov                      Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini

Nielsen                                Symphony No.5


Eivind Gullberg Jensen      Conductor

Simon Trpčeski                   Piano