Septet Web
World Premiere

The Belfast Ensemble reinvent Beethoven with their new work, Septet (for four) at Belfast International Arts Festival.

Fresh after the success of their genre-busting Abomination – A DUP Opera, The Belfast Ensemble premiere a new work – SEPTET (FOR FOUR).

Created to mark the 250th birthday of Beethoven, the piece of video performance art takes as its source material his ground-breaking Septet – a work whose fame almost eclipsed the composers in his early years!

Performed by seven soloists, the music forms a backdrop to a quartet of actors, each living their own stories in space and time, each without words.

With their trademark cutting-edge visuals and high European design aesthetic, this Belfast original shines new light on the genius of Beethoven’s early music.

The Belfast Ensemble is supported by the Arts Council of Northern Ireland.



  • Music by Beethoven
  • Directed by Conor Mitchell
  • Played by the Belfast Ensemble
  • Featuring Matthew Cavan, Tony Flynn, Abigail McGibbon & Kerry Quinn
  • Filmed live at The MAC, Belfast